Database: Search Honolulu airport taxi complaints

These are complaints recorded by AMPCO Express, the company that runs the taxi system at Honolulu International Airport, from 2010 through April 2015. You can use the drop-down menus to search by year, type of complaint or outcome, or you can use the boxes over the complaint and resolution descriptions to search for words like "slow," "dirty" or "lost."

Displaying 1-10 of 333 results.
DateComplaintResolution
2015-01-14Driver refused to take my credit card and cleaned me out of cash. Fare to Hilton Waikiki was $50 and he didn't have anything to process my credit card. I'm often out here on business and I think I'll take Uber from now on.Driver claims to never ever refuse credit card payment. Hotel doorman asked him to move his car away from entrance area due to being very busy. Tried moving but customer don't want to move farther away from entrance and wait longer so customer changed his mind and paid cash. Make apologies to customer for poor service.
2015-01-18Every time I fly in to Honolulu I catch a cab to Kuakini Hospital. Taxi drivers ard adding extra charges for using credit cards without advertising. They are not very honest. I travel all over the world and my last trip to New York the fare from airport to Manhattan was only $65 for four of us plus bags on fairly busy day...it seems it costs more to catch a cab in Honolulu than New York.Apologized to the caller and informed her that I would look into the matter further.
2014-02-24Driver didn't go the way I wanted to Waikiki. He took me down Ala Moana Blvd on Sunday.Called customer and apologized for the taxi driver.
2014-02-26ON 2/13/14 took a taxi to 500 Ala Moana Blvd. It was supposed to be a medical building. Driver took me to a building with no address on the front and dropped me off in front of a restaurant. Lady felt insulted when driver said "You like I carry you?" since she has a bad knee. Explained to customer that she was dropped off at Waterfront Towers which has not street address on the building and is fronted by Ruth's restaurant. There is a medical office on the right side of the building so I believe she was taken to the correct address. Apologized for driver's rude behavior.
2014-03-03Driver pushing for cash. He represents VISA Card and wanted to pay via his Corporate Visa card, and informed driver that he would be violating federal law if driver refuses to take card.Customer just wanted to let someone else besides the driver know about the law. Thanked him for calling. Driver did accept his Corporate Credit Card.
2014-04-11Driver wouldn't accept my debit card. He was unpleasant and disrespectful as if he wanted to fight with me.Apology to customer for driver's behavior. Customer not sure if taxi driver ID number is correct, therefore did not pursue further.
2014-04-22Driver took the long way via Kaimuki to Hilton Hawaiian Village instead of taking Nimitz Hwy which is shorter. Passenger knows the area since he was stationed here in the military.Driver was not given driving directions. Apologized to customer. Driver violated Rule 20 - Customer Complaint.
2014-05-30Caught a taxi last night and was very tired after flying in. Driver took almost an hour to get me home. Driver should know better not to take the freeway and then Vineyard. Instead he should have taken Nimitz. (Customer lives downtown and used to be taxi driver).Apologized to customer for driver taking the freeway, etc. However, if he gave no driving instructions to the driver to take Nimitz Hwy, then the driver will instinctively take the best way he knows to get downtown. Customer reluctantly agreed that he did not inform the driver so no fault should go to the driver.
2014-05-30Caught taxi with daughter on 5/26 around 9:00pm going to UH. The driver (old man) did not listen to us when we asked him to stop several times to get out because the meter was changing so fast by the dollars. We finally got out by Kapiolani Hospital and walked the rest of the way with our suitcases. The meter read $30.95 but we paid $30.00 in cash. Apologized to customer for driver's poor service. However, explained to customer that the meter charge of $30.95 is about right for the time and distance to Kapiolani Hospital (approximately 7.7 miles from airport). Customer seem more concerned about having to catch the same taxi driver next time she catches a taxi at the airport...assured her that the probability was highly unlikely.
2014-06-03Poor driver performance-wouldn't speak to customers, very curt, want to pay via credit card..he asked for cash. Kept running his meter at destination and I called him on that. Bad overall experience.Apologized to customer for bad experience with taxi driver. Unable to identify taxi driver with the information provided.
Go to page:
SOURCE: AMPCO Express, Hawaii Department of Transportation;
CREDIT: Dana Williams/Star-Advertiser