Database: Search Honolulu airport taxi complaints

These are complaints recorded by AMPCO Express, the company that runs the taxi system at Honolulu International Airport, from 2010 through April 2015. You can use the drop-down menus to search by year, type of complaint or outcome, or you can use the boxes over the complaint and resolution descriptions to search for words like "slow," "dirty" or "lost."

Displaying 61-70 of 333 results.
DateComplaintResolution
2010-09-03Unfriendliness Written Warning
2010-09-08Unfriendliness Written Warning with two point deduction
2010-11-12Used profanity in taxiWritten Warning with two point deduction
2015-03-31 4/7/15 1425 Spoke with complainant. He stated that the driver didn't stop the meter upon arrival at the hotel and he said "What, no tip?" which made him upset.4/9/15 Driver didn’t understand why the customer was upset. Explained to him that it's impolite to ask for a tip. If the driver provides great service that the customer will reward him accordingly. Reminded him that upon arrival, the meter should be turned off. He stated that he forgot. Driver found in violation of Rule 17: Customer Complaint, first offense. Driver is to be suspended for 48 hours starting Friday, April 10, 2015 6:00 a.m. till Sunday, April 10, 2015 5:59 a.m. Driver may return to work on Sunday, April 10, 2015 6:00 a.m.
2015-04-10 I am in Honolulu, HI. I just encountered one of the most rude taxi drivers I've ever had in my entire life. He kept giving me dirty looks. Would not turn where I asked him to. Treated me as if I were dumb. I'm sure he didn't realize that I actually was a resident in Hawaii and not just visiting. I have never called to complain about anyone but he was extremely rude and I just wanted to let you guys know. I even told him on my way out that he needed to treat his customers with more respect to which he just shook his head and gave me another dirty look. I just thought you guys should know about that. Thank you. Bye. (Voicemail),4/17/15 13:00 p.m. Picked up load from st. 4. I ask customer "Where are you going?" She tells me Nuuanu. I ask "Nimitz or Freeway" She says "Freeway." I take Freeway, then Vineyard. She tell me to go on Nuuanu but so much traffic, I go on Maunakea, turn left on Kukui and then right on Nuuanu. I tell her this way is much faster, save her money otherwise meter go up, up. My credit card machine, no charge on it, it doesn't work. I tell her just $20 cash. She start swearing at me. She gets mad and she throws the money at me. Driver found in violation of Rule 17: Customer Complaint, First Offense. Driver to be penalized with 2 pts and 48 hour suspension. Driver is suspended from Monday, April 20, 0600 till Wednesday, April 22, 2015 0559. Driver may return to work on Wednesday, April 22, 2015 0600.
2014-02-24Driver refused a load at station 4 because he said he can't take Amex credit card and dispatcher give another load to him and I get Amex credit card customer.Violation of Rule 15-Refusal of Load. Driver suspended for 48 hours and reapply to credit card processor to accept Amex card.
2014-03-25Taxi driver should not have discussion about taxi price with our clients.Interviewed driver and explained general policies regarding Voucher passenger flat rate handling and to watch what she does and says to all of her passengers. Violation of Rule 20 - Customer Complaints. Written Warning letter issued to driver.
2014-05-15Customer going to company's apartment in Kalihi and is going to pay via credit card. When in taxi, driver started complaining about having to pay $5 just to be here ... and only go short distance and he asked for cash payment. Customer got out of taxi and asked for another taxi.Driver in violation of Rule 15: Refusal of Load. 48 Hour Suspension imposed.
2014-07-23On July 23, 2014 at approximately 2115 the customer took a taxi from station 2 to thome in Kamehameha Heights. Customer stated that driver didn't know where in Honolulu he lived. Claims he had to give instructions 2-3 times in each direction.7/25/14 9:00 a.m., driver stated that he didn't do anything wrong. Claims the daughter rode in the front passenger seat and directed him to where they live. We tried to impress upon driver the importance of hearing, and that he should get his hearing aid as soon as possible. Informed driver he was in violation of Rule 17. Driver suspended Monday, July 28, 2014 6:00 a.m. till Wednesday, July 30, 2014 5:59 a.m. Return to work July 30, 2014 6:00 a.m.
2014-07-30On 7/27/14 after 2300, driver took a customer to Kaiser. Customer stated that the driver said "More tip, more tip, I need more money." She felt uncomfortable traveling as a woman, by herself.8/1/14 Explained violation to driver. Driver suspended 8/4/14 0600 till 8/6/14 0559. Return to work 8/6/14 0600
Go to page:
SOURCE: AMPCO Express, Hawaii Department of Transportation;
CREDIT: Dana Williams/Star-Advertiser